Physicians Formula #Instaready Eye Primer Duo Matte And Shimmer – A Review

I picked up the Physicians Formula #Instaready Eye Primer Duo Matte And Shimmer at Shoppers on sale for $10.49. It regularly retails for about $15 so I was excited to see it on sale. I’m in desperate need of new eyeshadow bases because I’m struggling with very tired, red eye lids and the longevity of my eyeshadow. I was previously using the Milani eyeshadow primer but found it couldn’t hold my eyeshadow in place when I was particularly tired. It’s an odd thing for me to struggle with since I’ve never had this issue before in my entire life. I digress… here is my quick review of the Physicians Formula #Instaready Eye Primer Duo Matte And Shimmer.

The first thing that I should mention is that this primer is actual a primer duo! You get a matte eyeshadow base and a shimmer base. For $15 full price that’s a good deal! And it’s even better when it’s on sale 🙂 

Even though it’s a good bang for you buck it is a little overkill if all you want is 1 of the 2 primers so that’s something to consider.

The above photo shows the shimmer primer (top) and the matte primer (bottom). The matte primer is basically clear and doesn’t conceal any redness on your lid. That was disappointing to me because I got the impression from the packaging that it was an opaque primer. It’s very comparable to the Milani primer in every way: finish, texture, and longevity. I’m going to hang on to it and see if it does a better job once I’m no longer pregnant. Pregnancy does mysterious things to your body and my new struggles with eyeshadow are likely caused from hormones – not primers. I’d offer that if you like the Milani primer you’d do well with this one plus you get the bonus of a shimmer base too!

Oddly enough I felt the shimmer primer did a better job. It is not a liquid eyeshadow though. It cant be warn on it’s own – well not if you’re 9 months pregnant with a 1 year old! It did add a little extra oomph to my shimmery look though, which I think is the point. 

Overall I would say that so long as you don’t suffer from difficult oily lids the Physicians Formula #Instaready Eye Primer Duo Matte And Shimmer would work out well for you. Even at full price it’s a pretty good deal and the product does work – it’s just not pregnant lady strong!

Sheena

One thought on “Physicians Formula #Instaready Eye Primer Duo Matte And Shimmer – A Review

Leave a Reply

