Sheena’s October 2016 Favourites

img_5335
My Thanksgiving look! Fresh faced and bold lippies for the win!

 

Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Palette

I haven’t bought that many eye shadow palettes this year and was craving to get one. I was eyeing this one since it’s on sale for $30 from $64. Nat had it in her collection and offered to sell it to me for $25 since she only used it once and is trying to purge things that aren’t getting as much love as they should be. It was a win-win 🙂 Over all I really like the palette and find it to be easy to use. I can create very nude every day looks with it without much thought. I like that in a palette. The downside is that the pops of colour aren’t living up to my hopes and dreams. The beautiful cobalt blue looks more black-blue on me and the burgundy tends to run a little brown. The high point of the palette is the amazing everyday gold shade! I’m happy I own it and can see this one getting reached for quite a lot when I return to work.

L’Oreal Butterfly Voluminous Mascara

img_5379

I wouldn’t actually describe this mascara as voluminous but it is lengthening! It also stays put. Running, flaking, smudging mascara is a huge issue for me. I’ve been wearing this mascara consistently since my friends wedding and it hasn’t let me down. I even use it on my bottom lash. I really enjoy how the brush lets me get close to the root of my lashes without making a mess of my eyelids! I do wish it lived up more to it’s name and provide more volume. It’s a solid mascara and will get repurchased.

BareMinerals 5in1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eye shadow

20160820_130254 (1)

This is a Nat recommendation. Also this is her photo. I’m kind of lazy and since I knew she’d taken a pic of it I didn’t bother to do it myself… thanks Nat!

When I’m heading out and I want to look awake but only have a few minutes I use these eye shadows, mascara and a nude lip gloss. Boom. Done. I feel that these shadows take the redness out of my eyelids without making it look like I’m wearing a lot of eye shadow. It’s subtle and I like that. They make a great eye shadow base too!

And that’s about it for this month! Short and sweet 🙂

Sheena

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

