Nat’s September 2016 Favourites

Well, summer has come and gone, October and cool weather is settling in. Am I sad, nope! I am happy summer is over because it was a scorcher here. I am looking forward to opening my windows to let fresh air in, cool morning walks with my baby where I don’t have to shower afterwards because of the sweat, and fall leaves.. I LOVE fall. 🙂 Here were my favourites for September. I had quite a few this month.

Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer

This is a beautiful bronzer. It is buttery, blends well and it is not too pigmented. I love that I can use this for a soft look and it works very well for my skin tone since I don’t love a dark bronze. It is totally a dupe for the Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer, except it doesn’t smell like chocolate. Instead, it smells like coconut summer. I prefer the chocolate smell but this one is also pleasant.

20160925_213240
Left: Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil, Right: Butter Bronzer – you will NOT see the difference on the skin!

Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Color

These… oh these… Missy and I went to the VIB Rouge event that Sephora had on Sept 10 and we stalked the Laura Mercier stand… why? for theeeese! The rep chuckled at us and swatched them for us and we made our choices! I picked up Moonlight and Amethyst… sooo gorgeous. I find these all all day without creasing, even if I don’t put a primer underneath. They are waterproof which means they stay extremely well on the waterline. I love these for a one-shade look when I am in a hurry as a mom. Sometimes my little one doesn’t allow me to take 15-20 mins to take my time and do my makeup so grabbing one of this, slap it on the lid with some mascara. boom insta eye look that lasts all day.

20160925_211128

20160925_211217
Bronzer, Amethyst, Moonlight and Plum
20160912_164747
Moonlight on the lid

Wet n’ Wild blush in RosĂ© Champagne

Sheena had this blush in her July/August favs and I couldn’t have said it better than she did : “RosĂ© Champagne is a very typical “is she wearing blush?” blush. It’s so natural. Pearlescent Pink is a fresh pink that really perks up my face. They are cheap, they last long, and go on smoothly.” When I put this on the first time, I was like wow!

20160911_114435

MAC Pressed Pigment from the Star Trek 50th anniversary collection in To Boldly Go

I love Star Trek, yup, I’m a geek! Even if I am not huge into MAC, I still had to get some of the Star Trek 50th anniversary collection. I just had to. This was the first time I tried a pressed pigment and I LOVED it. This shade is perfect. I used this with Fix Plus to control the glitter but I just loved the look on my lids. I just put this all over the lid and blended the crease with a transition shade and bam I was done. Love it.

20160925_210926

20160911_114437

Another thing I am wearing in the picture above is the Kat Von D Tatto Liner in Mad Max Brown. 

I didn’t think I would like liquid liners since I am a pencil junkie but daaaamn, the hype is real. I did get many samples of the black one which, if you know me, you know I am not a fan of black eyeliner on myself, I prefer brown. This brown is pretty dark but not black, which is perfect. I got a sample of it from Sephora at the last VIB Rouge event and I have used it many times since. It doesn’t budge and it is sooo easy to use, I was surprised how easy it was, being a noob at liquid liner myself. I will pick up the full size for sure.

s1671361-main-lhero

Carol Baker shadow brush

This brush I got a while ago from my parents as a Christmas gift in brush kit. I have just found my favourite use for it, my Makeup Geek Foiled Eyeshadows! I have been looking for the perfect brush to apply them, and this is it. Hands down. It grabs enough product to make it pigmented on the lid, just like it looks in the pan. I will not use anything else to apply them for sure.

20160925_213115

Quo Deluxe all-over powder brush

I picked this up on a whim during a sale at Shoppers Drug Mart and wow… I am impressed. It is dense and soft but great for a precise thicker (but not too thick) application of powder. You can press in the skin or buff it all over the face.

20160925_212954

Clinique Turnaround Overnight Revitalizing Moisturizer

I got a sample of this and fell in love. I have not had any dry patches when waking up in the morning since using this cream. Sure, the real test will come in the dead of winter but so far, it is great. I have noticed a difference in the morning in my skin. It looks better and it shows when I don’t use it. Plus, I love how the cream feels. It is sooo smooth and feels great on my skin, it is soft and my skin looves it. I actually love applying it. Will be getting a full-size of this.

s1689140-main-lhero

Well, there you go! These were my favourites this month. What did you like for September?

-Nat

 

Leave a Reply

